It’s Time

I’m back! It’s been two months since my last post on the blog and for my family that’s been following me, I want to say I’m sorry.

I am going to go through and do a blogpost for each trip I’ve been on since my last post. I believe that includes Munich and Oktoberfest, Rome, Naples, Sorrento, Copenhagen, and Amsterdam.

For anyone who doesn’t know yet, I got mugged on Tuesday. It was horrifying, I realized I trust stupid people way too easily, but in the end I’m safe and phones can be replaced. Luckily, all of my pictures saved to my laptop so I didn’t lose any of the pictures I’ve taken since I’ve been in Europe. Thank God – because this probably would’ve sent me over the edge.

I’ve actually been in kind of a funk following the events of Tuesday evening, as anyone would be probably. A few days later it was Thanksgiving and I missed my family way more than I anticipated. The next day it was my Gram’s birthday, and all I wanted was to be home to see her. I’ve been in bed if I’m not in class. I’m afraid to go outside. I’m not sure how to get a new phone or where to even begin getting a new iPhone for when I’m home and if I even want to get a phone for the remainder of this semester. French bureaucracy makes the whole process of dealing with the police totally terrifying for me because I’m not an unusually outspoken person (especially in French) and French authorities aren’t the cute French guys in the movies that everyone thinks they are. But these are all things to be resolved. My main decision now will be if I decide to stay in Europe for next semester or not following all of these events.

Opting to stay will mean much more experience in France, which I love. Next semester I’d also be moving into an apartment with one of my good friends Megan so I wouldn’t be living in a tiny box and that would probably bring my morale up about 200%. I’ll get to see my family in January for about three weeks. But it’ll also mean probably graduating a semester later, living in fear for another five months, and overall having to deal with the negative things that are just facts of life in another country. But it’s something I’ve always wanted and really want to do for myself because after this week I’ve realized I need to start doing things for me. I have the tendency to let people walk all over me and I’m finally done with it.

So while I could continue my pity party, it’s time to move on from a lot of things in 2016 – recent or not. I’m spending the rest of this year focusing on me, working myself off of the things we keep ourselves glued to the phone for, and continuing to do things for me.

I’ll write my travel blogs sometime this week, when it’s not 3 AM. I just wanted to give everyone a little piece of my thoughts following this week!!

Leave a comment